Champions League at a Cost and I Am Amnesiac

I’ve been very forgetful the past week and it’s not a good thing either, especially when you consider I’m only 19. Amnesia? Seems so. Hey, I’m 19, cut me some slack. Apart from forgetting to take the change at the petrol pump, collecting receipts, doing the laundry, and all the usual lot, I didn’t expect to forget the Arsenal v Fenerbahce second leg that was on yesterday. I completely missed it and was reminded only when I checked my Facebook in the evening. That prompted me to hurriedly check every single website regarding the result and watched 4 different highlight videos only to see a few attempts from both sides and Ramsey scoring a brace.

Champions League finalized! Well it was, pretty much, already done with in the first leg when we scored three away goals. But two goals from last night meant we finished the draw with a five goal to nil aggregate. Pretty impressive stuff from a club in “crisis”.

Arsene Wenger said after last night’s victory,

“We completed the job and we had some problems to get into the pace of the game. Overall, especially in the second half, we controlled the game and did a professional job. It was maybe not a very exciting game but we did what we had to do. Overall we scored five goals and didn’t concede so we are in the group stage. That’s what we wanted.”

But CL qualifications came at a price as Podolski was pulled out minutes after the second half was underway with a hamstring strain. Ramsey and Wilshere both took a few knocks too which leaves them a doubt for the Sunday match against the scum.

This is worrying because of the already-injured crop of players in the Arsenal medical room and only one addition to the squad: whereas Sp*rs have been spending like madmen in the transfer window. We lack depth in our already bleak squad and a matter that still hasn’t been addressed with only four days remaining till the transfer window closes.

AW also spoke about the matter last night,

“We have to see how bad the injuries are. I cannot tell you more than we are on the market. Everybody knows. The whole world knows that now. I cannot be more creative than that in the press conferences because all has been said and nothing has been concluded yet so I can understand your questions but I cannot give you more answers at the moment.”

If additions aren’t made till Sunday (which I personally think they will), we face Sp*rs with Diaby, Podolski, Arteta, Chambo, Vermaelen and Ryo all out – and that’s as bad as it gets. Let’s just keep our fingers crossed at the moment and hope Mata, Ozil, Di Maria and Benzema all come in within the next four days. Optimism at its finest.

Till tomorrow!

Leave a comment